Gov. Gavin Newsom has signed a bill that guarantees fast-food workers a minimum wage of $20 an hour.
The new law, which Newsom made official Sept. 28 during a gathering in Los Angeles, gives California’s fast-food employees the highest guaranteed base pay for that sector of any state, according to multiple reports.
All other people employed in California are guaranteed at least $15.50 an hour.
The law, which will take effect April 1 applies to workers at restaurants that have at least 60 locations nationwide. Restaurants that sell their own bread are exempt.
Because of the new law, union officials dropped their request to hold fast-food corporations responsible for any wrongdoing done by their franchisees, and the fast-food industry has agreed to remove from next year’s ballot referendum regarding workers’ wages, the reports stated.